Prologue

Felicity Donna Lord, that’s the name they gave me. I’ve never really been called Donna though, it’s always been just Felicity. The only time I can remember being called my entire name was when my mother was really happy or really angry with me. That’s also one of the few memories of my mother that I have since she passed away while I was still a little child. We’ll take it from the start, right?

Back then we were like any family, you know: mommy, daddy and the little daughter. And from what I’ve been told there was hope for a younger child as well. We did stuff that normal families do; went to see movies, played in the parks and so on. I remember us as a really loving family, mommy and daddy often hugged and kissed each other and of course they also showed me loads of love. The day it happened I remember quite well. We had packed the car full with clothes and toys because we were going on a vacation. Mommy had rent a cabin close to the sea where we were supposed to spend two weeks of the summer. We were all so excited, but we never got there.

They say the driver in that other car had fallen asleep and him showing up on our side of the road must have been a total surprise to my father who was driving. I myself was sitting in the backseat and that’s probably why I still live. They say daddy had no chance to avoid the truck and from the pictures I’ve seen that our car was totally smashed. Both mom and dad died right on the spot. I was five then. The loss was inconceivable of course.

After the incident I got moved to my young uncle and his fiance. It must have been quite a stress for them. See, they were only 19 years old and had just got engaged. They did what they had to and welcomed me to their family. Ever since that day I have lived with them and I think I’ve been a quite nice girl. Although, the few stories they had about my parents has been told over and over again. The only way I could get to know my own parents was by them telling me. Without those stories I wouldn’t be who I am today; I’ve started enjoying cooking and baking since that was what my mother liked the best. I drink coffee even though I didn’t like it all from the start because I was told my father had at least 5 cups each day. I could go on forever telling you why I like the stuff I do but it’s also enough saying everything has to do with what I’m told my parents enjoyed.

Uncle Tom and Clarissa never had any babies of their own. I’m not sure whether it has to do with me or if they never actually wanted any. It’s not like you can ask either. Well, here goes: some weeks before my 18th birthday I noticed that Tom travelled a lot. “It’s business stuff” he said but I must say I was worried he had started seeing someone else. I felt really down those days, they had naturally become like parents to me (even though I still wanted to know everything about my real parents) and I hated the thought that they were drifting apart. And then the day came when they asked me to sit down with them for a talk. I could barely breathe.

“Felicity, you know you’re soon 18 and legally that’s when our responsibility for you are over”

I gasped, where they about to throw me out?

“However, you can of course stay here if you like. But, seeing I’ve been away quite some time the last weeks. I’ve been working on something for you… See, when your parents passed away they left some heritage for you. Most of the money we’ve had to use to raise you and pay for your schools and so. But, there is also another thing…”

He paused for a second, what he was about to say was noticeable hard for him.

“… their house”.

I could barely believe it.

“All these years I’ve wondered so much and the house has been there all this time. Why did we never go there?”

“It hasn’t been easy for us to decide what’s good or bad for you and I’m sure we haven’t been the best parents. But you should know we’ve tried our best! But now you are free to do as you like. I’ve been at the house and freshened it up quite a bit the last weeks. It’s nothing special but it’s yours to do what you want with. And oh yea, it’s in Summerset Valley so if you decide to go there you can have the car, that’ll be your birthday gift from us.

I was shocked but I knew exactly what I had to do. If I was ever to find out more about my parents this was the biggest chance I’d ever get. I didn’t need much time to think even though I realized I wouldn’t see Tom and Clarissa much after I left. But I had to do it anyway. My birthday was only one week away and I decided to leave the day after. I waved goodbye to my dear uncle and his Clarissa and headed out for my big adventure.

About FruHurricane

25 year old gamer girl from Sweden who enjoys a sweet fiance, a sweet pug, The Sims and various other games. Officially classified as a geek.
This entry was posted in Generation 1. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Prologue

  1. callierose says:

    I loved it! I hope the house doesn’t bring back many bad memories for her :/
    Added to my blogroll 😀

  2. Pingback: Welcome! |

  3. Quan-Kun says:

    Great first chapter! Love how you gave a little history on the character too. Off to read the next chapter. 🙂

  4. rachiebabe says:

    Loved it, Great start! 🙂

  5. J says:

    Wow, I loved the prologue! I thought it was great.

    I only noticed two spelling errors:

    “had got” should be “had gotten”

    and you spelled “some” as “som” in one place.

    Other than that, I love it! Felicity seems like a great character, like she has a lot of detph. I’m interested in seeing how she develops.

    Off to read more. 🙂

    • FruHurricane says:

      Thanks. I appreciate pointing out the spelling errors as well.

      “Som” is a swedish word, it’s kind of like “some” so I see where that error came from. Darn language mixing.

  6. sErindeppity says:

    Ahhh I liked this prologue. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

  7. </3 at her background. Poor girl! But she's so pretty :]

  8. whatisaspacebar says:

    Nice prologue! Found this through the reader’s & writer’s club on TS3 forum… I’ll be reading more 🙂

  9. Jedidiah says:

    Hi there. Always seen your name on people’s blogroll and finally I made it to actually read it. 🙂

    Felicity is very beautiful. Love her skin tone and the hair. Looks great. I’m still not quite sold on how to find Uncle Tom and Clarissa…they are ok, I guess. But I think they should have told Felicity about the house. Well, hopefully she like the house.
    -Jed

  10. Wicki Chick says:

    I enjoyed your most recent update..Luna is suffering so with this bullying…but she keeps it all to herself. I am hoping that she thinks twice about this offer of friendship she has…another person may help her understand whan inner strength is…vs the strength she has placed on not telling

    • FruHurricane says:

      Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      She is deffinately considering Calum’s offer, especially after talking to Pascha about him. Her self-esteem is so low though, that it’s hard for her to let anyone close.

  11. yimiki says:

    Wow, I was really thinking they’d throw her out there for a second 0.o Thank goodness they didn’t. xD I wonder if she’ll remember pieces of her past when she lives back at her old house again?

  12. sha'tashari says:

    I know, I am a bit late in coming. It only now came me that I could search of blogs based on The Sims. I play often, mostly for the purpose of creating. This is a great idea and I plan to read it through from the start.

    • FruHurricane says:

      Welcome! I’m glad to have you here. 🙂

      The first and second generation are a lot poorer than the others but they introduce the family and it’s sometimes nice to know the genetics and characters behind the current ones. Do you share any of your creations on a blog or something?

      • sha'tashari says:

        I posted a few images from my CaW project. I want to post more images from what I created, but the best screen shots are in actual play-mode and that is a time off yet.

Leave a Reply

